Rate Warwick Thumb

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bass element, Dec 13, 2004.

1. How would you guys rate the Warwick 5 string Thumb bass on a 1 to 5 scale, 1 being the lowest?
    What strings, in you opinion, would probably sound best on them for more of a Tool-ish/ Mudvayne-ish sound?

2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Its a good bass. I would use DR Lo riders or Warwick black labels.
  3. ehhhh, not my preference, i wouldn't buy one for the stuff i like to play, overall i do not like warwick basses at all the flat necks i dont dig. I really dont dig their sounds either. I'm more of a fan of Musicmans and Laklands.
  4. The Hammer

The Hammer

Jul 13, 2004
    I've been playing a Warwick thumb 5'er neck thru for about 10 years and it is my number one go to bass. It is a matter of personal choice as someone who likes the fender sound will probably not be crazy about the warwick sound and vice versa.
  5. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    I think it would be safe to assume there's more to the Tool and Mudvayne sounds than the type of strings used..

I'd say round wounds would be a good starting point.

Oh, I'd rae it as a 3.9 out of 5
  6. Redhotbassist

Oct 19, 2002
    Ive had a Warwick thumb Bolt on 4 string for about 5 months now, and i love it, the tone, the playability, the look and feel.

5/5 :)
  7. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Had one, wasn't the bass for me, but it was a really good instrument. Try DR Longhorns.
  8. I have a B/O 4 and love the tone with DR Hi-Beams. The Thumb dosen't fit me well and gives me back/shoulder pain after about a half-hour. I've gone back to my P-Bass...
  9. MingusBass

MingusBass Commercial User

Sep 27, 2004
    Fort Wayne,Indiana
    Sweetwater Sound-Sales
  10. hyperlitem

hyperlitem Guest

Jul 25, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN