Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

raw newbie questions

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by saxon, Jun 24, 2005.

1. saxon

saxon

Jun 24, 2005
    Hello all, I have just joined today and am a complete novice about the big double basses. However I have just inherited one. I want to know so much and dont know where to start. I know the Bass was bought in the 60's and was old then. It is over 6 feet tall has dark wood. I would like to measure it and cant find a how to measure tutorial on google, as in where to start and end measuring. I did find this site on google and have been reading your links and stickys for a while and now I guess I'll jump in and ask. I can take digital pics if that will help find out what it is. This big beautifu boy has a maroonish canvas case and a bow with some of the the hairs broken. I want to learn to know my new bass, how to care for it ...what not to do more than anything i guess.
    Thank you for letting me ramble .. any help especially links will be very appreciated.
    Saxon/Sandra

2. That's not really easy... there are only "Approximate Standards" with damn near anything associated with double bass :rolleyes:

The closest thing to any kind of a standard is;

A 3/4 size bass is six feet tall, with a 41.5" length of scale.
    A 4/4 (Full Size) bass is two inches taller, two inches wider, in general, and I THINK the most common scale-length is about 43+ inches.

The L.O.S. is the distance from the bottom of the nut to the top of the bridge, as the bass is standing vertical.

That is the most reliable determiner, though a 3/4 bass will vary half an inch in either direction from 41.5 inches, pretty commonly.

If your bass is anything over 72" tall, the odds are good that it is a full-size bass (which is NOT the standard size).

The "Standard" sized bass is the 3/4 size.