1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ray Brown - thesis on his playing style...comments?

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by Bruce Lindfield, Mar 15, 2010.

1. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I hear that a fellow TB member has made his thesis available online - it might be interesting for people to comment?

---------------------------
    Originally Posted by andy rice
    If anyone's interested, i did my master's thesis on Ray Brown and i've posted it on my website.

www.riceonthebass.com

It is a transcription and analysis project highlighting his bass playing style.

22ish pages of analysis and about 20ish of transcriptions in PDF format.

Feedback is welcome either in comment form or on here.

thanks,

Andy Rice

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I have had a brief look and there is some very interesting stuff - analysis, sound clips and transcriptions of lines and some nice lead sheets.

I intend to read all of this and feel it is very generous of Andy to put all of this online to share with us! :)

3. relacey

relacey

Sep 18, 2004
    +1 Thanks Andy.

4. HeddieMurphy

HeddieMurphy

Mar 1, 2010
    Can't wait to read this, thank you very much for posting. Where are you getting your masters from?

5. Tandrew

Tandrew

Jan 9, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Thank you very much for making this available and for all the effort you put into it.
    I look forward to reading it as well.

Gracias,

Tan

6. Bassamatic

Bassamatic keepin' the beat since the 60's

This made my morning - Thanks to both of you!

7. Pcocobass

Pcocobass Supporting Member

Jun 16, 2005
    New York
    Hey Andy,