Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

RB5 or Bass VI?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tallguybcs, Jun 16, 2002.

1. At a local Sam Ash *they actually have very helpful, nice employees* they have a blue RB 5, dated 1998, new, and actually, is still really clean, actually it hasnt been played much at all. Is a great bass, for $1091+tax. Im new to 5 strings, and the neck is a bit big, but its not a problem, sitting down.

There is also a MIJ Bass VI, I think the date is 2000, but im not sure on MIJ stuff, the first number is 0 though. Beautiful instrument, I didnt play it as much as the RB5 (I went there to check out the RB5) but it did sound good. There is one ding on the back. The price is $671+tax

It would take a bit to get the money for the RB5, but I have a job and am selling unused basses *MIA P and musicmaster*

I am leaning towards the VI since the neck is easier to manage, and I have a *real* bass in my modded MIM J.

Anyone wanna chime in and help out with my choice?

2. Personally, I'd go for the Fender VI.

3. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

I assume you mean Bass V (5) and not VI (6).

I love my RB5. It is incredibly versitale and sounds great in a wide variety of situations. But trust your instincts, they are usually right.

4. Those are the ones with the high C, right?

I didn't think they made Japanese reissues of those...

5. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    AFAIK they don't... must be a V or 5 string.

The price on the 98 RB5 sounds high.

6. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    RB5 all they way. The Bass VI (if that's what it is) is pretty much useless for actual bass playing. Get them down to about $800 on the RB5, though.