1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

(RC) Water jet impeller design?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by T-Bird, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Hi.

A friend of mine called (multiple times) last evening. He was quite drunk, but what I could understand from his explanation was that they would like me to partly design and manufacture a few impellers for their RC water jet boat.

I have a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering and have quite an extensive array of machinery and the skills to use them so the designing and machining won't be much of a problem.

What is a problem is that I have ZERO experience in propeller/impeller design.

The specs I know ATM are as follows:

Boat: 1500mm long, 350mm wide.

Engine: 39cc, 14Hp, 14000 rpm. :scowl: http://www.motobikespares.com/39-cc-engine-watercooled-p-243.html :scowl:

Jet: Twin 50mm dia. Three blade. 20000 rpm

What bothers me is the pitch and lenght of the impellers they need/want. Lenght=1.8*D. Pitch 50mm or 75mm or 100mm.

That's nowhere near the dimensions I looked at in the net. All the impellers were shorter and had a pitch much less than the diameter.

Personally I think that their ideas won't work, at least not well, the proven ones will ;).

If anyone has any info/sites to point me to, that'd be awesome. And if someone has a pic of the Graupner (or any other) 49mm impeller, that'd be cool too. It seems to be missing from all the sites I visited???

Math/physics, even quite advanced, are no problem, but I do need some laymans explanation to give to my friend also.

Regards
    Sam

2. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

Apr 12, 2006
    Huntington Beach, CA
    So uh. I've got nothing.

3. wazzel

wazzel

Dec 27, 2007
    Houma, LA