Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

RE: Cellular structure of wood?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Celarier, Dec 8, 2002.

1. Celarier

Celarier

Sep 5, 2002
    Washington, DC
    OK I'm still a newbie on the DB but loving a new found passion. Speaking of passion, I recently read a forum response in which 'warming a bass' through playing it often and regularly improves the sound of the bass itself.

My query - What does playing playing the DB do to the instrument to make it sound 'better'. My thought had been that it was me the player that was 'warming up' and not instrument itself. Upon greater focus and reflection - now I think this may untrue.

Could it be that "waking-up" a DB does something to the wood cells themselves, thereby exciting the tissues that comprise it. In essence, when wood cells are dormant for a long time might they 'harden'. - the liquids in the endoplasm stagnate?

So by playing more often it keeps them from coagulating - for lack of a better term. It keeps the wood cells liquified (like with shaken paint). These are only thoughts and theories. Wood sounds better when played often - but why?

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I've heard that PBS did a show on this. I'd like to check it out.

3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I've always attributed this phenomenon to "psycho acoustics", since I never knew what else to call it. I'm still not sold, but haven't dismissed the idea either.

4. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA