RE: DB Wood Care & Upkeep

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Celarier, Sep 28, 2002.

1. Celarier

Sep 5, 2002
    Washington, DC
    Well I have just sent in my supporting member cash for this most awesome website.

Question: I am a Newbie to DB but have recently purchased an old Epiphone from the 50's.
    It is good shape but was wondering what kind of care/upkeep I could perform. It has a few scratches/wear to the sides and the brass is dulled. Is it better to just leave it alone. Also there are a few 'din
    gs' on the body beyond the finnish. Can I do what I do with my furniture with Ober Fornby's or is that deterious to the instrument? I just want to respect it.

The brass is dulled. Should I not shine it? Obviously you don't want cleaning product to get the neck which could be accomplished by finely taping around it before application.

I read all the Newbie articles - which were all totally great. But I saw nothing about finnish, polishing, or cleaning products? Is there room for details on 'talkbass - DB' for these kinds of concerns. I just don't want to do something wrong to an instrument but want invest in it's future use and presentation.
  2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

The newbie articles in each forum are specific to the topics of the forum they're in. I think there are a couple of articles in the "Setup & Repair" links thread about finishes. Either way, this thread has potential to be a good useful source of information, but it needs to be where Lex Luthier lives. So with that in mind......
  3. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA