1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

re: Newbie questions

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by evoclogic, Dec 16, 2011.

1. evoclogic

evoclogic

Dec 16, 2011
    Hello to all,
    I'm a composer/producer. I play bass, badly. It is an instrument I will always love, but not my main axe (by a long shot). I joined this forum because I have a 19 year old son who has been playing bass since he was around 12 but never really practiced a lot...until now. He is taking lessons with Fima Ephron, and starting to take things very seriously. So this is where I need your help.
    I bought him a $200.00 yamaha bass about 5 years ago, put a badass bridge on it and had it set up. It was fine for him to learn on, and has served him well.
    Now he needs a real instrument. I want to get him something he can grow on for a while, but I need to be somewhat budget conscious, between $500 and $800 is my target area.
    I've heard that some vintage 1970's fernandes fender jazz basses are good for the money, but have had a hard time finding.

Any advice from you heavies out there?

Thanks in advance.

Best,

Josh

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    Hi, and welcome. Unfortunately, you're going to get as many different responses to this as there are people on talkbass. Everybody here has their favorite bass or company, and that's what they're going to recommend.