1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

RE: Strap Locks... got a favorite??

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by scottice, Dec 9, 2006.

1. I'd like to get some strap locks for my two new basses and would like some suggestions as to the pros and cons of the kinds available.

Schaller, Fender, Dunlop?
    Are the Schaller and Fender the same?

Do they all require new screws? I don't want to screw anything up with new fasteners.

For the record I have a 1972 Fender Musicmaster and a Ibanez SR900.

Thanks in advance.

2. Introvox

Introvox

May 21, 2001
    Ontario, Canada
    I use the Dunlop's...love them the best, I trust them.
    On both my basses I was able to use the original screws.

They are available in silver / gold / black (fav.)

Push button design makes them sleeker than the ones with the pull-out knob.

Hope this helps

3. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    The Fender pieces I buy have Schaller stamped on them, so I am confident that they are the same. They are definitely interchangeable, and they are usually (always for me) less money.
    They come with screws, and I generally use the new screws - I'm not 100% sure, but I think that the original screws won't quite fit inside the hole at the head of the screw. All my guitars and most basses are Fenders - other brands may be different.

4. X Wolf

X Wolf Guest

I've had the best luck with Schallers which have never let me down. I did have one of the Dunlop push button ones come apart on me though.

George

5. Wademeister63

Wademeister63

Aug 30, 2004
    Denton Tx
    I like Schallers.