1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Re-stringing my Peavey T-40

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by T-Forty, Sep 25, 2008.

1. T-Forty

T-Forty Guest

Mar 14, 2008
    I've heard a lot of good things about the Hi-Beams and I am going to give them a shot. T-40s are string-through though and this is my first time re-stringing it. Should I worry about the length of the strings or will the normal length be long enough?

This may be a dumb question, but I've never had a string-through guitar and I don't want to get home and not have enough length!

2. T-Forty

T-Forty Guest

Mar 14, 2008
    cmon now

3. You should go with the long scales, otherwise the string taper might go over your nut.

4. Rugaar

Rugaar

Apr 11, 2007
    wisconsin
    No problem putting standard Fender flats on mine. Don't know about DR.

5. lug

lug

Feb 11, 2005
    League City, Tx
    Don't know specifically about those strings but traditionally the T-40 needs long strings due to the strung-thru design. I've bought a couple of sets over the years that came up short and had to use them on other basses.

6. T-Forty

T-Forty Guest

Mar 14, 2008
    Thanks homies

7. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    DR Hi-Beams work just dandy on a Lakland string-trhough-body so they should work on your T-40 as well. Most regular long-scale strings are long enough to work on STB basses. The key exception is D'Addario. For those you need to get the extra-long sets, which can sometimes be a pain. They changed this around 1990 or so (before that, D'Addario strings fit my STB StingRay, and after that they didn't).

jte

8. jasper383

jasper383

Dec 5, 2004
    Durham NC
    DRs and GHS strings will fit anything 34" or 35", bridge or string through. Those are the only two brands I am sure of. I've gotten to the point of only buying DRs or GHS strings because of this.