Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Reading in general

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Bleached, Jan 24, 2003.

1. Bleached

Bleached

Jan 15, 2003
    Laurel Montana
    Ok so this might sound stupid but I'm very new to the bass. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how, exactly, to read tabs. Don't laugh at me. Thanks for all the help.

Kory

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    tabs - the lines represent the strings on your bass - the one on the bottome is the lowest string - the fourth string (your E string) and the top is the 1st or highest string (your G). The numbers tell you what fret to play at. So:
    ---------------------
    ---------------------
    ------2---5----------
    --3------------------

That tab would be telling you to play a G on the 3rd fret of your 4th string then play a B at the second fret of your 3rd string and then a D at the 5th fret on your 3rd string. Just don't forget, tabs only tell you where to play - not note duration or rythm or anything else. Tabs are not properly written music, only a type of finger chart. They can be a good place to start, but eventually you'll want to learn to read & write standard notation and learn to learn songs by ear. Be very carefull if you get tabs off of the web (they're usually wrong IME) Good luck and welcome to the world of bass!

3. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    uh, tab related--down to tabs you go......

Chris A.:rolleyes:

4. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Hey, how come it's not "up to tabs"? Or, "over to tabs"? :D