1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Reading tabs for double bass

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by timebandit, May 27, 2011.

1. timebandit

timebandit

May 27, 2011
    Hey peeps ,
    I'm a newbie to playing double bass and was wondering anyone know how to play bass tabs on double bass . would you mainly be playing in half position or 1 st position if the tabs was 1 on the e string ?? If knows of a page that explains this I would be stoked thanks ;)

2. Um, over here we call it "bass clef." Tabs are used by pork-chop players.

In all seriousness, though, you can only help yourself by learning to read music. The advantage is, as you become more and more competent at reading (and familiar with the fingerboard) multiple fingerings will suggest themselves instantaneously upon looking at passage of music. It is then up to you as a player to choose that fingering (or series of fingerings) which is the most ergonomic, and musically appropriate. Sometimes these two are the same thing, sometimes not.

With tablature, you're limited to the fingering notated in the tab. Also, I'm still not convinced that there is an efficient (that is, sight-readable) way of notating rhythm in tab. I know, I know. I'm making the claim from my own experience -- perhaps there is a genius out there who is inventing that system as we speak. Notice though, that standard musical notation has persisted for nigh on half a millenium, basically unchanged. It's a pretty solid system.

3. GrowlerBox

GrowlerBox

Feb 10, 2010
    Nude Zealand