1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ready to make the jump as a... Bassist (I hope.)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by drummer5359, Apr 25, 2016.

1. drummer5359

drummer5359 Gold Supporting Member

Jan 10, 2011
    Pittsburgh PA USA
    I'm a drummer/percussionist, and don't lack for gigs on those instruments. Several years ago I made a commitment to become a serious bassist, I've worked hard to get comfortable on bass. I switch from hand percussion to bass a few times per night in three different acoustic projects that I'm part of. But, that entails playing between three and eight songs per night as a bass player. I have not played bass in a band all night as of yet.

Last night I got a message from a singer/guitarist that I know. He has played in a few bands as a lead guitarist, and would sing lead a few songs per night. He has decided that he wants to be a front man and is looking for players to round out the band. He knows me as a drummer and has seen/heard me play bass in two of the acoustic projects, he knows that I've been working toward playing bass in a band. He called me and we've talked it over. He has a rehearsal room and he wants me as a bassist and to help him assemble the rest of the band.

It will be primarily blues with some classic rock thrown in. I'm excited for the opportunity, but nervous as to whether my bass playing will be up to par. As a drummer I can play at a fairly high level, I'm a decent hand percussionist, but as a bass player I still have doubts and fears.

This should be an adventure.

2. lefthandedmutha

lefthandedmutha

Sep 26, 2008
    Michigan
    Congrats and don't sweat it,
    you've been through it all before with the percussion.
    Feel free to use my own personal mantra. There are no wrong notes, only passing tones

3. two fingers