1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Real or Knock off Cirrus?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by joe234sims, Aug 21, 2012.

1. joe234sims

joe234sims

Aug 21, 2012
    Okay so I am new to bass and there is a guy selling what is supposed to be a Peavey Cirrus 5 for $200. I'm unsure if it is legit though because the bridge is different from other Cirrus' I've seen, and for some reason it has only 4 tone knobs, and it doesnt even look like one broke or anything. Here is a picture of said bass.

[​IMG]

Any help/info is greatly appreciated!

2. Isn't that a BXP or something? Not bad, maybe worth 2 bills.

3. FunkyMcNasty

FunkyMcNasty Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2010
    CO
    I think its a BXP or something like that

*Edit* ^ You beat me to it.

4. joe234sims

joe234sims

Aug 21, 2012
    He didnt list it as a BXP but it probably is. Like I said, I'm a total bass noob :p. But yeah he's asking $200 for it. Gonna go take a look at it tomorrow.

5. FunkyMcNasty

Dec 4, 2010
    CO
  6. *GRIND* BXP- that's it.

7. joe234sims

joe234sims

Aug 21, 2012
    Thank you!! I greatly appreciate it

8. Bass_Thumper

Bass_Thumper

Oct 20, 2009
    Madison, MS
    Yep, that's a Grind, not a Cirrus. Very good basses btw.

9. FunkyMcNasty

Dec 4, 2010
    CO
    Just throwing this out there; I played one of those less expensive peavey basses about a year ago, and was very surprised by the quality, playability, and sound. I am not sure if it was this exact model, but it was under $500 new at a music shop. If that's the style your looking for, it may be worth checking out, and $200 does not sound bad to me. Good luck.