Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Really need help on my first string purchase.

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Irie01, Jan 27, 2005.

1. Irie01

Irie01

Jan 22, 2002
    I am very new to the upright bass and I want to get new strings. A luthier that worked on my bass recommended the helicore hybrids medium guage.A very big concern for me is the tension and playability of the string.I have very small fingers and right now I am struggling with the current strings on my bass.It is very difficult to press down a lot and I need something that will be easier on my fingers to play.I am in college and I play classical as well as jazz so I need a set that will do well with both.I think that is why the hybrids were recommended to me.I have read and searched many posts but honestly, the more I read, the more confusing it gets.A brief explanation of the gauge system would also be very helpful so I can see which may be best for my fingers.I am willing to sacrifice some sound in order to be more comfortable playing.

2. jgbass

jgbass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    I just went through the dilemma of wanting to try out new strings and not knowing what to do. I have been using Spirocores and, yes, they are easy on the fingers, and the Spirocore Weich's are even smoother and have a little less tension than the regular Spirocore's. But, I wanted something that worked better for bowing. My teacher uses Heliocore orchestral for both jazz pizz and classical, but is more of a jazz player. So I thought I would try the Helicore orchestrals. I love them for bowing, but they are difficult for playing piz because of the dampening effect. But, on my teacher's bass, they sound fabulous on piz and are very playable. Depends on the bass.