Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Really need help setting the action on my bass!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by gbf, Aug 13, 2003.

1. hey guys, how are? here is my problem ...
    since i broke up with my girlfriend i have stopped playing (about two weeks ago). so today my birthday present arrived (Ed Friedland's Bass Improvisation book) and i picked up my axe again. as i started playing something felt wrong... really wrong... the action of my strings is almost two times as high as it was before. i changed the strings to a lower tension (from 45 to 40's) very recently and i haven't ajusted my truss-rod since. can this be the problem? or it is just because i haven't been playing in a while? ohh and by the way my bass is a Fender American Tradicional Jazz Bass '01

Thanks already!

2. You should sight down your neck from either the headstock or body to check out the striaghtness of your neck. If you haven't adjusted the bridge saddles since the time you stopped to when you picked up the bass next, it is almost definitely the neck.

Sounds like the neck has way to much relief. If its a jazz bass the truss rod is either at the neck or the body. Follow the rules, lefty loosey, righty tighty, loosen the strings, turn the truss rod about an 1/8 or a 1/4 of a turn. Let it settle for a few minutes, than tune back up. Keep doing that until you feel its back to where you like it. Adjust in small batches and avoid going to far.

3. jieshi

jieshi

Mar 26, 2002
    just a thought ..

is yr traditional jazz with plastic pickguard?1 whole piece instead of the metal piece at the jack?

4. YES IT IS JIESHI! do you know anything about the bass? i don't have any clue about the model.

5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

There is a guide to doing your own bass set-up at Fender's website :