Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Reccomendations for a fretless bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tida, Dec 28, 2004.

1. Help please! I am looking for a fretless bass for my boyfriend as a birthday gift. Problem is, I know nothing about basses. I play piano. :D So, I was hoping fellow bassists like yourselves could help me pick a winner.

He's a self taught bassist for more than 8 years. He is heavily influenced by Les Claypool and, contrastly, Victor Wooten. Right now he plays on a 5 string and a 4 string, both fretted . He likes the 4 string, but it has bad pickups, he loves his 5 string ibanez - it was his first. Now he wants a 6 string as well as a fretless (however many strings i dunno) :rollno: Anyway, it will be his first fretless.

I want to get him something that he can experiment with playing style and sound range. Good lows, clean mids and highs that aren't too shrill.

Should I go for brands like ibanez, fender, or ritter? Or go custom, through who (someone who is willing to put up with my questions and lack of insight)? And how many strings

2. goat1234

goat1234

Mar 17, 2004
    Virgnia
    price range? do you know of any basses he really wants or likes? there are many nice basses out there, but if its his first fretless, i wouldnt go all out and geta custom built, that would coust quite a bit.

3. Nothing above $2,000. He doesn't have interest in any particular brand. He usually picks one up for it's aesthetics first, then plays to see if it suits him. So far he hasn't found one. I've seen him pick up fenders and yamahas. But when the price gets above $800 he doesn't even try in fear of liking it. Unfortunately, his funds are tight so he can't afford to get one for himself.

4. FireAarro

FireAarro

Aug 8, 2004
    austr-
    What's his current bass? Does he like it? BTW you're awesome for getting your BF a bass ;)

5. Whafrodamus