Received a New Set of DRs in the Old Packaging. Should I be Concerned?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by matante, Aug 4, 2018.

1. matante

matante

Nov 3, 2003
    Los Angeles
    The package of stainless Lo Riders is grey instead of black and the strings are in white paper sleeves rather than the new plastic anti-corrosive bags everyone seems to be using nowadays. Should I worry that the strings won't be as fresh as they should be? I've never used this brand before and I don't want my conclusions about them to be swayed by a less than fresh set.

2. Where did you get them from?

3. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Inactive Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    DR boxes will vary... I get 3 or 4 boxes if the same string sets (6 per box) and each box can have a different outer box...

However... DR stopped using the WHITE paper sleeves a long time ago. At least a couple of years. They now use a YELLOW paper sleeve.

This does not mean the strings are no good or anything... Especially if they were kept in a cool climate controlled location.

Sanchan likes this.
  4. matante

matante

Nov 3, 2003
    Los Angeles
    I got them on Amazon but from a different seller. Trying to save three bucks but now I think I should have bought them from Amazon directly.

Badwater likes this.
  5. matante

matante

Nov 3, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Thanks for the reply. I would have bought them from you but you seem to be out of stock on everything I've wanted to try lately. Cheers.

6. SLaPiNFuNK

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    Always ask if you have a second... Stock status isn't current online on some things. DR usually restocked weekly on faster moving sets.

Sanchan likes this.
  7. SLaPiNFuNK

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California