1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recomend strings to me?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by goodtimejonny, Nov 29, 2006.

1. Hey, so I'm a beginner upright jazz player. I'm in the market for some new strings. Before you tell me to check out the strings stickies, I already did.

I'm looking for some strings for my DB that give me that very nice mwah. Also, if these strings didn't carry too much tension. That's as close as I can get to describing it. I play pizz and a little arco. Tomorrow I will try to upload an example of what I am looking for. In the mean time, could anyone recomend something like that?

Thanks in advance,
    -Jon

2. Spiro Weichs. Welcome to the darkside, unfortunatly we all have searched for the right string. It's a long, expensive process.

Good luck and have fun,

Mike

3. PB+J

PB+J

Mar 9, 2000
    arlington va
    what mike da mook said--spiro weichs. Relatively low tension, articulate tone, lots of growl. Spiros in general are more or less the default string for jazz. You might not end up playing them, but you'll need to try them sooner or later.

In the spiros Weichs (lights) have less tension than Mittels (mediums, which have less tension than Starks.

Spiros are bowable but they don't give the sweetest sound at first. On my bass, the weichs are a little easier to bow than the mittels. They have a nicer sound than the mittels on my bass as well--more "bounce."

The spirocore weichs will give you exactly want you want

4. Basschair

Basschair .............. Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    Definitely Weichs.

An alternative (for me at least) would be Pirastro Flat Chromesteel (not flat chromes).

5. I guess you meant (not the Original Flatchromes) ?

6. Jake

Jake

Dec 11, 1999
    Florida