Recommend a practice bass. Tone is not an issue

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by RRWesner, Aug 7, 2020.

Tags:
  1. RRWesner

RRWesner

Jan 10, 2010
    Hello! I’m looking to make the plunge into an eub and I am specifically looking at the ns design wav series. but could use some advice.

I am looking for a full scale bass that I can use to practice on when I travel. I am a profession musician but I primarily work and live overseas for 6 month contracts but want to keep my chops up while I’m out and away from my upright at home.

I have played DB for years and it was my main instrument before I started playing in this band. Now that my main gigs are out of the country I can only bring my electric but I would be able to bring something like the NS design bass since it’s small-ish unless there is a more compact full scale eub.

And lastly, has anyone used the thumb stop to practice in the transition are and thumb position?

My most important criteria in order:

Easy to travel with
    Full scale (to keep left hand technique)
    I would like it to sound nice. But this is mostly going to be used as a practice tool while I’m away from my nice DB

I’ve read through countless threads on the wav and haven’t found one discussing this in particular. Forgive me if I just missed it!

2. If you want to practice DB playing on an EUB you don‘t want a tripod but a straight endpin.
    If you want to bow a lot (like classical solo), you better get an EUB with a resonance cavity or a moving bridge.

These are not cheap. You can put things on an NS EUB to get there, but I would not recommend that. Have a look at the Italian MK EUBs (specially the classical for bowing) or a Yamaha. There are a few others as well. EUBs need compromises to be small and some of them are hard to correct if not impossible. Be prepared to pay more than a student DB and get less.

Ric Vice, RRWesner, Luigir and 2 others like this.
  3. Martin Spure

Martin Spure

Feb 4, 2020