Recommend drum machine, etc for pre-set latin rhythms

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Bass301, Sep 17, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Bass301

Bass301

Jul 13, 2008
    Hello,

What drum machines have the best latin rhythm pre-sets ---- the most realistic grooves and the most realistic percussion instrument sounds ?

I am a bassist who as a separate activity is learning various styles of latin dancing and would like to use the steady tempo of a drum machine to set the pace during my dance practices. This would allow for learning at very slow tempo then increasing to faster tempos as part of the learning process.

Other thoughts :

(A) Using the pre-sets mainly as a metronome, as an alternative would any of the electronic metronomes ( Boss db series, etc) have useful grooves and tones of latin rhythm pre-sets compared to a drum machine ?

(B) Using an Android phone, are any useful apps available ?
    I have heard of Luis Martinez apps for Apple.

(C) Using a laptop computer, what software would be most useful ?

My first preference is a stand alone drum machine but am open to considering other alternatives.
    Budget is under $ 300 and below for new or used, with the lower the better.

Thanks

2. ofajen

ofajen

Apr 12, 2007
    92.4W 38.9N
    If you had an iOS device, I'd recommend DrumJam by Pete Lockett. Not sure if it is Android also, but worth checking. If so, if will be just a few dollars.

Otto

3. derrico1

derrico1 Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2005
    Charlottesville, VA
    For a laptop, ~ $130 gets you the basic version of Band in a Box. It will handle your dance practice, and you'll find it musically useful well beyond that.