1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recommend me a power amp/cab setup.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Systolic, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Systolic

Systolic Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2009
    Madison,Wisconsin
    Hey guys. So I decided to go this route after having the epiphany that I always use a pre-amp and so there is no need for me to have a traditional bass amp.

I'm basically a novice when it comes to all the technical aspects of knowing what plays well with what. So I've come to you all for guidance.

So I need a power amp that will play nice with a ZOOM B3 and a VT Bass Deluxe (separate applications,) as my pre-amp(s.) I know the VTBD has issues with input sensitivity with certain amps.

Cabinet wise, I'm in the process of deciding between going with 2x12 or 15" plus a mid driver. Either way, I need to be able to add an extension cab for gig size flexibility. So I would think I need either 8 ohm cabs or an amp that is kosher with running a 2 ohm load (2 x 4 ohm cabs)........right? :confused:

I suppose I don't need a ton of power as this setup is all i'm running. So I would think a 1000w-1500w should be sufficient? Just need enough room to really crank it and dig in.
    I've looked at the Carvin DCM1000L and the Peavey IPR1600 as i've read that Crown stuff has compatibility issues with the VTBD.

I do as much research and learning as I can before I come to you guys, but this stuff sure can be confusing. :help:

2. Systolic

Nov 29, 2009
    Madison,Wisconsin
    Bump

3. 90dphillips

90dphillips

Jan 11, 2012
    Murrieta