Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Recommend Me Some Jazz

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by invisiman, Oct 10, 2004.

1. invisiman

invisiman

Feb 22, 2004
    I'm new to the whole jazz scene, and I was hoping you guys could give me a good starting point of the "standards", and the like. The onl jazz I've ever heard is Weather Report, and what plays on the Jazz Cafe (a nifty little TV channel). I'm not as interested in the big-band aspect of jazz, but I'm willing to give anything a go.

Thanks in advance :bassist:

PS. If this has been done before, provide a link, and I'll get this one closed

2. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Well you have to pick up Miles Davis "Kind of Blue"

3. start with the basics, Miles Davis and John Coltrane and Louis Armstrong. Also , since you are a bassist, check out Jacos solo work, his self titled album is his best.

4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Charles Mingus, Charlie Parker, John Coltrane...all good stuff. Also make sure you check out jazz vocalists, too. Jane Monheit, Matt Dusk, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin, Diana Krall, and Eva Cassidy are my personal favourites.

Honeysuckle Rose = GREAT jazz standard. Also become familiar with A Night in Tunisia, If I Were a Bell, and Blame it on My Youth.

5. invisiman

invisiman

Feb 22, 2004
    Some of this is really...not what I expected. Either that, or I've been blessed with the misfortune of cominf across every slow, and down-beat jazz song in existance. Maybe jazz fuision is what I'm looking for?

6. Alexander

Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    Try Medeski, Martin and Wood - "Uninvisible" is my favorite album...

7. you MUST go get some Wayne Shorter:
    Speak No Evil
    Night Dreamer
    Schizophrenia
    Juju
    The All Seeing Eye

Wes Montgomery: