1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recommend me some V. Wooten or Jaco

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by skaelin, Aug 15, 2007.

1. skaelin

skaelin

May 24, 2007
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I've been playing for about 5 months now. The hardest song I have learned is Higher Ground by RHCP, but I can only play it at 60% speed and it took me a while to learn.

Anyway, are there any V. Wooten or Jaco tunes that somebody could recommend given my level of playing ability. I've only heard a couple of songs by each artist but I liked them a lot. Hope they have some beginner stuff.

Thanks Much!

2. Deacon_Blues

Deacon_Blues

Feb 11, 2007
    Finland
    Check out Jaco's version of Herbie Hancock's song "Wiggle Waggle". It's a pretty simple one, but it requires a good technique. There's a great version of it on the "Jaco Pastorius Big Band - Word of Mouth Revisited" album from 2003 with Jaco's bassline sampled from an older recording. Go buy this album if you don't have it! It's really great and features a lot of the greatest jazz bassists (electric) in the world, like Jimmy Haslip, Wooten, Miller, Gerald Veasley, Victor Bailey, Christian McBride... even David Pastorius. :)

You can also check out the song "Birdland" by Weather Report. It's been played so often I can't listen to it anymore, but it's probably the easiest song to start with if you want to play some Jaco.

I've never been too interested in Wooten so I can't give any advice on any of his songs.

3. most jaco is harder to learn than it is to play it once you know it (IMHO). however, it can be done and a good solo to go with after the above suggestions is continuum.

4. cnltb

cnltb

May 28, 2005
    my very favourite wooten thing is what he plays on a song called sunset road. It's pretty easy.