1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recommend some songs! I need to take it to the next level.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DUBBED, Mar 12, 2008.

1. DUBBED

DUBBED

Feb 19, 2008
    Okay here's the deal. I've been playing bass for about 8 months now and I've hit my first major plateau. I find the songs I have been playing are not helping me improve. I'm trying to find new ways to play them ie. paying more attention to locking in with the drums, but I feel like I'm not making progress technically. And it seems like all of the songs I desire to play require a level of talent that is currently unavailable to me, ie Marvin Gaye - What's Goin On.

To give an idea, here's some of the songs I've learnt to play:
    - RATM - Bombtrack, Know your enemy
    - Chili Peppers - Wet Sand, Dani California, Hard to Concentrate, Chorus of Tell me Baby
    - Jimi Hendrix - Fire, Hey Joe
    - Stevie Wonder - Sir Duke, Master Blaster

I may not be able to play them all flawlessly but I've got the major parts of those songs down pat.

Now, I'd like to get back into my lessons with a new song in mind. I'm looking for something with a pretty active bassline, and to put it simply, just a fat ass groove. I'm open to anything.

2. FronTowardEnemy

FronTowardEnemy It is better to go unnoticed, than to suck

Sep 19, 2006
    Plainfield Illinois
    Anything by Tool will be challenging and fun playing. It works for me.

3. Wasim

Wasim

Dec 10, 2004
    Try learning some stuff by the Beatles

To start with, the bass parts on the Abbey Road album in particular aren't that hard technically but they will improve you as a musician.

Paul McCartney's style is like James Jamerson Light, so it's a useful step up toward the Motown stuff like What's Going On.