1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

recommend some strings, im wet behind the ears

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by jamestown94west, Jul 20, 2012.

1. im putting together a parts jazz. its 4 string. i tune to standard A440. the bass has active EMG's in it. im new to the world of strings, and im wanting to try something that isnt a stainless round wound. im not entirely sure i want to go with flats, but im interested in a more thumpy sound. ive never used EMG's before, and i wont get to hear this bass until i buy some strings for it. i will mostly be using this bass for cover songs, top 40/pop, lots of dave matthews, little bit of rhcp, porcupine tree, classic rock, 50s-60s stuff too. i use a behringer 1x15 combo, an ampeg ba115hp combo, or an svt3 pro head into an ampeg svt 8x10.

im thinking maybe chromes, or someone suggested labellas to me and i thought i might try em. i really hesitate to spend more than $30 on strings though.

would tape wounds work? i like those on my fretless.

im also thinking about pressure wounds, i have some GHS pressure wounds on a squier cv 50s p and i love them.

2. Start by getting an account with Bassstringsonline.com. Tell them you are a TB member and you will get an additional discount.
    Other than that, I cant help you. I only play Steel strings

3. I had forgotten about them. I believe I'm already registered there, ill check it out. Thanks!!

4. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Definitely Bass Strings Online...and they are having a 5% off sale today!

As far as the strings...sounds like you might like GHS Pressurewounds. Not zingy like rounds, not dead like flats.

5. If it's a Jazz Bass then +1 on the Pressure Wounds. Best strings I've ever had on a Jazz in over 35 years of playing.