1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recommendations for $2000 or Less Bass Upgrade

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JamMasterJR, Jan 25, 2012.

1. JamMasterJR

JamMasterJR

Dec 18, 2009
    Salinas, CA
    I'm an amateur player looking for recommendations for a second, better bass that's less than $2000 with great sustain that will cut through pianos and guitars but not overpower them and not be too boomy.

I've never cared for Fenders (J or P). Wish I did, but they just feel wrong to me.

I briefly played around with a brand-new, Rickenbacker 4003 (with just the factory setup!) a few weeks ago. I fell in love with it: loved the tone, thought it played like butter and could easily strum power chords but I have nagging doubts. Some people seem to have bad things to say about them: painted necks, weird finish on the fingerboard that wears down, etc.

I have an early 90's Peavey Foundation with D'Addario ECB82 chrome flats (50/70/85/105). I usually play finger style on it and love the sound for the occasional open blues jam, but the sound isn't working for me elsewhere.

I regularly play Sunday masses (in a large church with 500+ parishoners and tall concrete walls with a lot of really weird angles) along with 3 other guitarists, a couple of teenage girl singers and a piano player on a baby grand. It's "contemporary" Catholic mass music (70's singer/songwriter style) from OCP so it's pretty subdued. My Peavey is a little too boomy but when I roll off the bass, the D and G strings are too thin.