Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

recommendations for a quality student bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by fourstringrebel, Apr 15, 2003.

1. fourstringrebel

fourstringrebel

Apr 15, 2003
    :confused:

I am a student looking for a reccomendation for a bass that offers the best money for quality value. My resources are limited so I need a good deal.

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Rebel-without-a-bass: The info you're looking for is in the Newbie Links: BASSES. There are Newbie Links at the top of each section of the forum. The only thing that could help you a little further is to fill up your profile page so that the area where you live is known. Then you could get recommendations to specific shops, or a PM (private message) from a seller. And don't forget to look for a teacher... that could steer you toward a decent student instrument.

3. fourstringrebel

fourstringrebel

Apr 15, 2003
    hey olivier thanx for replying to my question but im really not allowed to put my area up there. I can tell you though i live in north texas around the dallas area.

4. You can visit the Newbie link just by clicking on this link: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=43093. Give it a try, and click on some of the other links you find there there.

The first thing to do, though, is determine what kind of music you plan to play. That will influence the type of bass you want to look for, types being; fully-carved, hybrid (carved top on plywood back & sides), or fully-laminated(plywood).

Just right off the bat, chances are good that a fully-laminated (plywood) bass is what you're going to do best with as a first (and maybe last) bass, unless you have Orchestral Ambitions.