Recommendations for Small Dual-Purpose Combo Amp

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by MountainMikeCS, Aug 4, 2022.

1. MountainMikeCS

MountainMikeCS

Apr 18, 2020
    Hi all,

I'm new to double bass and picked up a bice 'beater' to learn on. I've been placing electric for 30 years - I've been learning double bass over the past year and love it and have been playing nothing but double bass in jams for the past few months. Tons of fun.

I'm looking for a recommendation for a small combo amp that can give me a little extra double bass volume over the drums in a small jam environment while doubling for the same with electric bass. I like the sound of a small Ampeg or Fender combo for electric, but what would you folks recommend for double bass as well?

I don't play professionally any more and I don't plan to play anything larger than a small club in the next few years if I do play out.

My budget is under $500.

Thanks all!

Mike

2. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California
    It doesn't get much press here, but the Roland Micro Cube Bass RX puts out a decent amount of volume for a relatively small amp. It has 4 4" speakers that are optimized for 6AA battery power, in my experience lasting up to 20 hours. It weighs about 15 pounds and the price is below your stated limit. I've used it indoors for audiences up to 100 people, and outdoor for up to about 50 people, and have been told it could be easily heard at the last rows of people.

The trick with small amps is elevating them to shoulder/ear height so they don't pump sound into peoples legs. I've modified a speaker stand for my Bass RX and it has no problem being heard.

MountainMikeCS likes this.
  3. There are actually a ton of options these days, which was not the case 10-15 years ago. Your price point narrows it down a bit, but you still have a lot of good options.