1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recommendations re schroeder

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Skyline2, Feb 27, 2008.

1. Skyline2

Skyline2 Guest

I'm a newbie looking for advice. My Hartke HA2500/XL115 is being pushed to distortion by the guitar and drums. I want a clean sound, not muddy and more on the bright side rather than dark. Playing classic rock.
    I 'm thinking of a Schroeder 1212 or 21012 I'm looking for recommendations regarding the schroeder or another cabinet.
    Would the Shroeders give the volume w/o replacing the Hartke amp? The guitar amp is 30 to 50w. If I need another amp, am looking at a Gene Benz Shuttle or a SWR amp. Recommedations regarding these or other amps would be great. Just playing for fun, no gigs.

2. pulse

pulse

Apr 10, 2007
    Berlin, Germany
    Take a 21012

and a stronger amp so you dont underpaower the cabinet

3. zac2944

zac2944

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    FWIW, I play a 1212R and GK 1001-RBII (~700Watts) and have never needed more volume. I'm not sure what the power output of the Hartke amp is, but anything 500W or more with a 1212 should be plenty loud. YMMV

4. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Depends how loud you are playing. Honestly, unless your a super loud death metal band a 1212r should do the trick. Thats what I have and I love it. Should work great for classic rock. Quite portable, loud for its size and great tone that cuts thru the mix. Its a winner.

5. CElton

CElton I'm a new note finder...

Based on this statement, I'm not sure you would find a Schroeder to your liking. I have a 1210 and I really like it, but I would not describe it as "clean" per se. They respond well to EQ, but have quite a bit of low mid hump.