1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

recorder setup...

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by tbassist4, Nov 19, 2006.

1. I hope this is the right place to post this. Anyways, I'm just looking for some recommendations of recording gear. I need a recording device that I can use to record myself playing bass for practice and possibly audtion purposes, as well as recording a choir. I'm a composer/arranger as well as a bass player and need some live recordings of one of my pieces, and look to do more of this in the future. I'm looking for something of very high quality. Easy portability isn't a problem, I just need to be able to get it places. So, I've heard good things about the EDIROL R-09 WAVE / MP3 Recorder and Player, but the fact that the mics are built in kind of scare me away from it. I would like something that I could possibly plug somewhere around 4 mics into. So a 4 track recorder would be another option for me. Also, what is the common medium of recording? I know MP3 would cause a loss of quality, but what about minidiscs, or a DAT tape (disks?). I don't know too much on the subject. As of right now, I'm thinking of looking into 4 track recorders, because those seem to have the most fuctionality and versitility. Also, what mics would be good to use for choral and instrumental recordings? Like I said, I'm looking to buy 4, so I can mix and match a bit. Thank you so much in advance!

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Send me your email addy, and I'll send you a couple of cuts I recorded live on the Edirol. I really dig it.

3. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA