1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Recording metal bass

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Stevosimpson, Apr 1, 2013.

1. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson

Dec 31, 2012
    Winnipeg, MB
    To put it bluntly I'm a noob at recording metal bass and I want to go for heavy, overdriven/distorted tone.

I have a 6 string ESP with EMG's, a sansamp RBI, and a Darkglass B3K but I cant figure out where to start, my typical settings for my amp just don't work.

Where should I start?

2. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson

Dec 31, 2012
    Winnipeg, MB
    Anyone?

3. dangerouscello

dangerouscello I wore a suit under this Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2011
    Philadelphia
    I'm confused a little. Are you having trouble getting a good metal tone to record, or are you having trouble physically recording it?

4. KodyAudette

KodyAudette

Apr 30, 2012
    Albuquerque
    Well, as far as metal tones go, the biggest issue that I usually face when mixing a metal track's bass is finding the balance between OD/Distortion and the bass itself.

Think of it this way, every track in a mix takes up a certain sonic space. Now Bass is always tricky in any genre because the low fundamentals of the bass fight with the kick drum for space (particularly in metal). Any overdrive on the bass essentially adds a lot of upper mid signal which is right where the guitar's overdrive is sitting as well.

What this means is you have to pay attention to two parts of the bass' sound, the lows (the note itself) and the attack/snap/overdrive. You have to consider how these two aspects of the bass tone interact with everything else in the mix.