Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Recording with a 4 Track

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Witty-Name, Nov 15, 2004.

1. Hey y'all
    Okay, i'm new to recording stuff so feel free to point out the obvious etc. etc. I would say stay away from personal critism but that's never helped before so, oh well.
    Okay, down to business. What will buying a 4 track do for the band? Right now we record on a kareokee machine... so as you might guess, this isn't ideal. So is it worth spending money on a cassette 4 track to improve the recordings? Any other info would be great aswell
    Thanx alot
    Rob

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Back up and describe what the recordings will be used for.

Do you just want to record practices, make demos, record a CD?

3. Eldermike

Eldermike

Jul 27, 2004
    NC
    I have used a 4 track tape machine to make some pretty good recordings. However, in today's digital world your options should lead you to some computer based recording equipment. You can start out low end in the digital world and still be very close to studio quality. The wide range of quality in the analog world is totally price driven and the curve is steep.

4. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    Unless you can get a cassette four track cheaply (as in, "under $25") then don't bother. It doesn't cost much to get into a decent two or four channel recording rig that will plug into USB or firewire on your computer and you'll have a lot better set of options for editing and mixing. If you're using Linux you can even bypass the software cost altogether.

5. Droog

Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    PDX