1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rediscovering an old friend . . .

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BartmanPDX, Sep 9, 2008.

1. BartmanPDX

BartmanPDX Supporting Member

Back story to set the table:

I started playing bass when I was a Freshman in college in 1986, and bought a heavily used Ric 4003 ('cause that's what Geddy played). After about two years, I decided I wanted to get another bass, and after playing a fair number of basses, I fell in love with a Steinberger XL-2 and bought it. After college, I had a tough time finding people to play with in grad school, and eventually put my basses away for the most part. Marriage, a job, and a child came along, and I rarely played bass except to once in a while noodle around.

In mid-2004 I began to crave playing bass again. As some TB regulars here know (another long story), I ended up quitting teaching to focus on my daughter who has special needs. Her situation limited my opportunities to play in any kind of group (since we were in the hospital so often), so I compensated for the lack of playing opportunities with a desire for more gear and a better tone.

That's when I discovered TB. And you can guess the rest of the story -- I bought basses and sold basses, much like most people here I suspect, in an eternal quest for the perfect tone. The Steinberger, not being new and exciting, got pushed to the back of the closet, but I never considered selling it, as it had been with me for too long, and it's somewhat rare/unusual.