Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Refreshing Koa

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by A9X, Jun 19, 2005.

1. A9X

A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Sinny, Oztraya
    Hi All,

I have a Peavey Dynabass Unity that's all Koa except for a pair of thin neck laminates, and it looks like it's never been cared for well. I'm looking to refresh it aesthetically.

The wood looks very 'dry', but it isn't cracked or anything, and it's obviously picked up a lot of hand oils on the back of the neck and parts of the front from playing. The wood is quite dull looking and I'm not sure what to use to clean it, and perhaps re-oil it (should it actually be oiled?)

It's a nicely understated looking and lightweight 16yo bass and I'd like to bring her back up to snuff before I rebuild the electronics and play with some new pickups.

I'm not very experienced with woodworking and would appreciate any tips on what to do and how to do it.