Refreshing your groups attitude/working finding a guitarist(beware of rant)

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by scorpionldr, Dec 14, 2004.

1. Well guys, here's the deal. for about the last month we've my group (a trio of bass drums and vox) has been working on finding a guitarist, and in the past month we've tried two people almost exactly the same. same crappy style of tuning (drop.....aka, "i don't know how to play a perfect fifth [ala powerchord] with two fingers" stye), same crappy style of playing (self taught, using minimal's obvious) and same "oh yea, yanno, i can play fast" BS attitude. we've all (i only HOPE) realized the fact that if we ever want to get out of my basement for gigs that we need to find a guitar player, and lately, since we don't find many people (in numbers and quality) we've in general just been cruising around in the singers car (I haven't even started on him yet) in all our free time, regardless of whether or not we intend on practicing (material's cold).
    well, just for kicks, the first guy, who had been playing completely self taught seven years, comes in, starts trying to play some of our stuff, it doesnt even happens (also a digitech user, so you can tell he's craptastic), and for our finally before our "fake splitup" he says, "you expect a guitar player to follow bass?" well, enough said on him.

second guy comes in, I had gave him a demo prior to the meetup (two weeks ago), and we meet up, first thing i really hear is "oh i stopped listening to the demo a week ago". right, EAT ME, i'm only giving a fair chance out. so yea, he can play A LITTLE better than the first with 3 years behind him, he's got his own style (and a behringer rig ready to explode), needless to say, we're not feeling it.