Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Refurbishing an old bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by boofis, Dec 25, 2003.

1. Hey.
    RIght now I'm doing up an old P-bass and I have just a few questions because I'm pretty new to this.

How do you get a flame in the bass body?

Can you stain the flame a certain colour?

How do you stain and how do you get it even?

What difference does a rubbed oil finish give apposed to a spray?

What oil do you use for a rubbed finish?

What kind of ?glue? do you use to connect a neck through?

Can you sand down a 4 strng neck to make the profile flatter and thinner?

Thanks to everyone.
    Thanks
    Troy

2. How do you get a flame in the bass body?

"Flame" or figuring comes from a natural twisting of the fibers of the wood. The visuals result from light hitting these twisted fibers at different angles and reflecting differently. Unless it's in the wood now, it won't be there after finishing.

Can you stain the flame a certain colour?

Sure, figured woods can benefit from all sorts of staining and coating techniques. There are as many approaches to this as there are guitars to do it to.

How do you stain and how do you get it even?

Volumes has been written on this subject. It's usually a fairly easy thing to do unless there's a certain "look" that you want - then it becomes a matter of great attention to detail and careful application to achieve the results you see in your minds eye.

What difference does a rubbed oil finish give apposed to a spray?

Spraying oil probably should be left to the final stages of a finish. Rubbing the oil into the body in the beginning stages will push more oil into the pores and grain for greater visual depth. Spraying sets the oil on top and is good for a final high gloss finish with polymerized oils

What oil do you use for a rubbed finish?