Reggae Setups?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassBoyLeroy, Aug 5, 2004.

1. I've recently got into playing reggae and reggae influenced ska, and I was wondering what setups are/would condusive (sp?) to a good reggae/ska bass tone. Specifically, I'm looking for:

• Amps/Cabinets
    • EQ Settings
    • Basses
    • Pickups (?)
    • Anything else that might make a difference

Im currently using an MIM Deluxe Active Jazz 4 w/ Rosewood 'board, an Ampeg SVT-II Pro, an Avatar b210 and b212, and for practice I use an Ampeg BA-115 combo. Suggestions on how to use my existing gear to improve my sound are greatly appreciated.

2. I think most skka bassists use stingrays, there was currently a thread on ska bassist equipment.
  3. BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    i've been playing ska, and reggae for the past 8 years ( and I use an old Fender Bassman 135 tube head with matching 2x15. As for what bass I use I have used a Danelectro DC bass with flats, and currerently using a Fender Pbass 59' RI with flats, along with upright bass. I say found what works for you.
  4. Jim Jackson

Jim Jackson

Jun 19, 2004
    fender p bass. turn the bass al the way up on your amp and the highs all the way down. play with your thumb resting on the neck.

reggea bitches
  5. I-Love-Ratm

Feb 24, 2003
    Play on the fingerboard for overtones
  6. ihixulu

ihixulu Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2000
    getting warmer
    The SVT/810 setup is a tried and true favorite but I've seen many shows where the player used other gear such as SWR, Eden, Mesa, Hartke. I've seen more 410's and 215's than 12's but that may simply be due to what was available at the time.