1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Relaxation...My Achiiles Heel

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JimmyM, Jan 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I'm a good bassist and have made a living at it for years now, but one thing that has always bothered me is my lack of speed. I am OK with speed, but not for very long, and I've had people tell me it's because I tense up my right arm when the tempos get fast. Well how the heck do you not? And yet, I watch all manner of bassists not tense up their arm when the going gets fast, and I just don't get how they do it.

What am I missing?

2. White Beard

White Beard

Feb 12, 2013
    Well, without having watched you play or know what types of strings you generally use or what kind of bass, my first question is: why are you using your whole arm to pluck the strings? Just focus on moving your hand from the wrist down.
    After reading your post, I walked through a few choruses of "Mr. PC," which is generally a fast song. I'm mostly just moving my fingers. Lighter gauge strings can help, as you don't have to pull as hard. Also, I highly recommend a healthy dose of cheating. If you hit that string with your left hand fingers hard enough, you don't even have to pluck with the right.

Andre678 and JimmyM like this.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    I'm not using my whole arm to pluck the strings. It just happens that I tighten up once I play something fast for a few seconds. And I do use quite light strings and very low action. I try to keep it confined to just the fingers, but then the wrist is the first to go, and then the whole forearm. I don't get it.

But I DO cheat a lot!

btmpancake likes this.
  4. White Beard

White Beard

Feb 12, 2013