Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rental URB

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Big K, Mar 6, 2004.

1. Big K

Big K

Mar 3, 2004
    Summerville SC
    I am a newbie and have a rental bass I rented from Brooks May music company. They said it is an intermediate bass. It was made by Karl Reiser. I was wondering if it is a good URB and if anyone knows much about them. It sounds okay to me. I bought a bassmax pickup from Bob Gollihur and I am trying to tweak it to get a good sound. Let me know if anyone thinks it is a good bass. It is possible that I could buy it with my rental $ applied toward the purchase of it. I am also considering either the Englehart EC-1 or ES-9 to purchase. Just would like to have a good opinion on this rental bass. It goes for a little more than the Engleharts. There are not too many URB players in my area in Charleston SC. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    It is no more likely that Herr Reiser made your bass than it is that Henry Ford made your truck. But that doesn't mean it's good or bad.

If you feel you're not able to evaluate it yourself yet, than a) bravo for asking for help; b) bring it to a luthier for evaluation; and c) the frequest refrain around here, "What Does Your Teacher Say?"

If you don't have a teacher, contact the Charlston Symphony Orchestra at http://www.charlestonsymphony.com/bigset.php?T=home

Good luck, hombre, and c'mon back.

3. FidgetStone

FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    Big K,