1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Renting in the SW - The String Shop of AZ or The Bass Cafe?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Jason Sypher, Dec 8, 2011.

1. Fellow bassists. I don't post here anymore but I feel that this information is important to the community of professional bassists. For those that don't know me I am a professional bassist who travels about one fifth of the year touring. Over the years I have found that renting is the best option and as many of the places I play are in or near large cities I usually have no problem finding a good shop to help me out. In fact, I have never been denied a rental in the past five years or so, even in as far flung locales as Budapest. Bass players are, in my opinion, a special breed of musician and we share an understanding of the difficulties of our chosen profession. With travel restrictions tightening and oversized baggage fees skyrocketing it is, in my opinion, vital that pro bass shops provide some kind of rental option for the traveling professional. I have had no difficulties in this regard until my recent trip to Arizona. Steve Koscica is the owner of a shop that has established itself in the Phoenix area, here is Steve with his fine Italian bass String Emporium, About Us. Many may have heard of Steve here on these forums, he has been the subject of some debate in the past, mainly for using the forums to promote his business but also regarding some discontent with his business practices. I have been to Steve's house and played his basses and he seems like a nice enough guy to me, I even went so far as to defend him here on the boards.