Repair Ampeg Amp in Northern California. Worth it?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by xavierandrade, Jul 15, 2020.

1. xavierandrade

xavierandrade

Jul 5, 2012
    Hi! This is my first time posting in this forum but I have been reading it for a while.

I just got my hands on an Ampeg SVT 6 pro that needs repairs. There was a short that burned part of the circuit board on the amplifier part (see picture). However the preamp part works (the DI gives sound, even though with a lot of background noise).

I would like to get it repaired in some place with experience. Does anyone know such a place around the Bay Area? How much should I expect to pay for such work?

Is it worth repairing it or will I end up paying more that what it is worth? I know a bit of electronic so I could try to do it myself, but the chances of me screwing up something are high.

wI9iQT6.jpg

2. How long is piece of string? Unless someone can point to that and say ''I have fixed that fault a couple of times, the XYZ blows and takes out the doofer and the whatzit, half an hour tops'', it's guesswork and even then there could be more to it.

At least it looks oldschool repairable if you know what you're doing.

3. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    There are quite a few parts that are damaged aside from the 4 or 5 that are visible. The bigger challenge is that there may be hidden damage to the underside of the PCB where excessive currents may have damaged traces. Also, the damage to the PCB laminate may be more seriously burned than it looks, the resins carbonize under heat and they are somewhat conductive, so the cleaning needs to be thorough and aggressive.