Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

repair of chinese bass in beijing, china

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Uncle Lee, Dec 8, 2003.

1. Hi everyone, I am new to this site and am actually just looking for a bit of advice. I am a relative beginner double bass player, and just bought my first bass (made in PRC, brand Sanxian, I think) in Beijing, where I am on a language exchange. I have been having a lot of problems with it, mainly that the back is "falling off", ie coming unstuck at the bottom. Also the setup is problem. Can anyone help? Specifically, the problems are:

1. The back is coming unstuck.Its been glued once but three days later it had started coming unstuck again, even worse than before. I don't dare play on it (I have taken the bridge off to remove pressure), and tomorrow its back to the shop for another repair. Is there anything more I can do? Is it worth trying to do the repair myself (as I think that the people in the shop are definitely not luthiers, rather salespeople)? What can I do to prevent this kind of thing happening - I am already keeping my eye on the rooms humidity, but perhaps temperature is also important...? Has anyone had this kind of experience?

2. The set-up. I've read some posts already that recommend going to a luthier (I also read the one about the piano-style bass strings on chinese models, right on!). Unfortunately, there is a very small market for this Beijing and I haven't had anyluck. Even in stores where one can BUY quite expensive double basses and accessories, they just say "Oh, you can just file the bridge down". Can I? What should I look out for? I am anxious to get practicing again but seem to be facing all these problems. So what MUST I look out for when setting up?