Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Repairs to Czech Pylwood

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by gwildar, Sep 1, 2003.

1. gwildar

gwildar

Sep 1, 2003
    Hi,

i recently got hold on an old czech plywood double bass. I got if for free as the guy a) never played it. b) moving to America c) a friend. It's in pretty poor condition, I've taken it to a professional luthier and the say the repairs are going to cost around £500 ($800). I'll also need a new set of strings and case. I've been playing electric bass for around 10 years now and was looking to pick up a double bass. I was wondering if people think it's worth getting it fixed or should I just look for a new one?

2. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Uh, it's hard to say with the information you have given us. But, $800 for a professional-playing instrument is a deal.
    What is the condition of the neck? What wood is the fingerboard? Is this a newer Czech plywood, or an older one? What work does your luthier want to do to it? Where are you?

3. gwildar

gwildar

Sep 1, 2003
    Repairs are: shoot finger board, repair the rib bulge - this is the major work. Basically the back is split about a yard long down the seam. Also requires a new nut, and new endpin. Plus refit the sound post.
    The neck isn't in too bad a condition. Though could do with sanding.

The fingerboard isn't rosewood or ebony. So I'm guessing it wasn't an expensive bass in the first place. My guess it's about 20+ years old. It has a little silver and blue label saying "made in czechoslovakia".

I'm based in London and the Luthier is a long established, very reputable outfit.

4. dvmweb

dvmweb

Apr 20, 2002
    Atlanta MI 49709