1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Replaceing cab speakers

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dose, Apr 16, 2009.

1. dose

dose

Nov 2, 2008
    Mobile,AL
    not sure if this is the right place or not but here goes i recently started playing bass again after 10 years. So i when out and bought some gear,being im alot older now i have more cash to spend so i bought a nicer head then i had 10 years ago an Ampeg SVT-3 pro as well as a nicer bass ect... I still had my older hartke 410 transporter cab from back them just never could seem to get rid of it i guess.So i get home hook everything up sounds great! I'm happy with everything but one thing, at low volume the cab still sounds great but soon as a give it a little juice it falls on it's face i know it's only 300watts max and that's the reason so my question is this since the cab is still in almost new condition do i A look for some replacement speakers and keep the old girl or B shell out another 500+ dollars on a new or newer one? i was looking at these
    Eminence Legend BP102 for replacements but am open to any suggestions you guys might have Thanks in advance

2. MIJ-VI

MIJ-VI Banned Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2009
    Hi dose.

Speakers & cabs have to be matched to yield a good tone.

You may be better off selling the Hartke 410 Transporter (or keeping it for use in a rehearsal space) and getting a modern/good-sounding cab which compliments the rest of your rig. 'Clean sweep and all that.

3. eastcoasteddie

eastcoasteddie

Mar 24, 2006
    NoVA
    See, "good tone" is a purely subjective thing. What one guy likes is what another hates...as with most things.

Those BP 102 speakers you looked at...I put 4 of them in an old SWR Goliath II that I bought for $75, with 4 blown speakers.