Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Replacement pups on an MIA Jazz 5

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Ralphdaddy, Nov 17, 2003.

1. Ralphdaddy

Ralphdaddy Supporting Member

Nov 6, 2003
    Chicago, Illinois
    Hey everyone, I'm thinking of switching out the pups in my Jazz 5 and, since i have zero experience in this department, I'm turning to you to give me info on what would be the best pickup to give me the classic Jazz bass sound, but in 5 string form. I was looking into Bartolini and Fralin, since Fralin makes the pickups for Lakland jazzes and everyone raves about those, but I don't know if he does replacements for a Fender J5. I'll take any input you've got, thanks everyone.

Ralph

2. Bekkeland

Bekkeland

May 16, 2003
    Sandnes, Norway
    Remember to check pickup size
    Fender MIA Jazz pups are wider than std 5 string jazz pups (believe it or not!)
    :confused:

3. Ralphdaddy

Nov 6, 2003
    Chicago, Illinois
    Do you know which kinds will fit into an MIA J5?

4. Bekkeland

Bekkeland

May 16, 2003
    Sandnes, Norway
    You should check the measurements of your pups before ordering new ones. American STD and American DLX basses have the wider pups. I believe the older Fender 5's have narrower string spacing and the smaller (standard) Jazzbass 5 string pups.

I just installed Bartolini 57 J1 L/S (Long/Short)- 5 String J Bass Pickups (Set)
    on my American STD Jazz V, and I'm happpy with them. They are split coil noiseless pups in Jazz shape. I run them throug a J-Retro preamp, and this combination works great IMO!

Aero also makes single coils that fits Am STD/ Am DLX. There are the Fender Noiseless ones, and I think Lindy Fralin (?) makes some as well.

5. Ralphdaddy

Nov 6, 2003
    Chicago, Illinois