1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Replacing Bass Necks

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Shazam, Mar 2, 2016.

1. Shazam

Shazam

Feb 20, 2012
    I know that this is a bit of a noob-y question but forgive me because i am a noob when it comes to modifications or what. I have a standard MIM Fender P bass and i don't really like the size of the neck. Would it be cool to buy a neck of a Fender P Bass deluxe and replace my current neck? My main concern is that the strings my not fit on the neck anymore considering the P bass Deluxe supposedly has a J bass neck profile (may or may not be the dumbest question in the world bu tplease bear with me)?

2. Garret Wheeler

Garret Wheeler

Mar 1, 2016
    It shouldn't be a problem to put a Jazz neck on a Precision body. I've got a P bass that I put a J neck on and it feels great. It's actually a very common mod people do.

sissy kathy likes this.
  3. NigelD

NigelD Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2013
    I just put a fretless Jazz neck on my P bass. You wont have a problem changing necks as long as they're Fender spec (heel- 2 1/2"; scale length 34").

4. Shazam

Shazam

Feb 20, 2012
    Alright! Thanks for clearing that up up for me.

One more thing, is changing necks just as simple as unscrewing the old neck and screwing onthe new neck?

Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
  5. fhm555

fhm555 So FOS my eyes are brown Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2011
    If you use the same string gauge as the new neck is set up for it should be a sinple matter of some minor mechanical tweaks to get it ready to rawk.

6. The Deluxe neck is a 22 fret neck vs the Standard's 20 fret, and so, is that much longer. Determine what else you may have to do to install a longer neck and remain at 34" scale.
    If the scale changes it will never intonate properly.

7. Shazam

Shazam

Feb 20, 2012