Request advice on Steinberger NS Design EUB

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by smarvelous, Dec 15, 2003.

1. smarvelous

Jun 2, 2002
    Albany, CA
    Hi all,

I am a bass guitarist looking to venture into the DB world, but with these requirements...

- I play salsa/latin and want access to a more percussive baby bass sound.

- Be able to get a DB sound for jazz and brazillian gigs.

I don't want an ampeg baby bass because I feel it won't perform well for the jazz/brazillian stuff.

I've researched a bit and am looking at the NS design bass. Questions for those of you play this bass:

1. What kind of strings do you recommend for what I want to do.

2. What action or dampening or other things do you do to get a baby bass sound.

3. Is it worth getting the 5 string (I could see my self using the low B for Cuban Timba and Brazillian stuff, but its not really necessary for me)

thanks in advance!!!
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I started off thinking like you - as Gard used one of these for Latin/Salsa.

But I did find that while I loved the NS CR5 sound - you do have to play it like a Double Bass and therefore develop a different technique which slows you down.

So, I tend to use mine for Jazz and slower things - but the fast Latin stuff is just too difficult for me, so I stick with BG. I use palm muting and plcuking with my thumb on BG for Tumbao bass lines where it is high tempo.

So. I went for more fo a Jazz sound on my NS bass - raised the action and got soem real DB strings. Following discussion here with Francois - who seeems to know all about strings for EUBs! - I got some Pirastro Orchs and they made a huge difference to how it sounded - much more like a real amplified DB than with the stock strings!
  3. smarvelous

Jun 2, 2002
    Albany, CA
    Thanks, Bruce.