1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Request for recommendations for a new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SuperKoopa97, Aug 3, 2012.

1. Jazz

83 vote(s)
    50.9%
  2. Precision

41 vote(s)
    25.2%
  3. 4003

17 vote(s)
    10.4%
  4. Other

22 vote(s)
    13.5%
  1. SuperKoopa97

SuperKoopa97

Aug 3, 2012
    Hello everyone!,

I've been playing bass guitar for about two years, now i'm thinking about buying a better one. I own an Squier P-bass with rosewood fretboard (i already know that bass isn't good) and i was thining about getting: Fender American Standard Jazz Bass Maple fretboard (i actually like maple better than rosewood) or an American Standard Precision Bass with maple fretboard or maybe a Rickenbacker 4003 (i already know this one is not cheap). Which one could you recommend me? I play different music styles, like Pink Floyd, Rush, The Police, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix and Black Sabbath, so i want a bass that could fit this styles if possible. :hyper: I personally want the punchy sound of the p but i also like the soft j sound and the problem with the p is that the single pickup does not offer a wide range of sounds like the jazz does. If it is another Bass that i didn't named before and has what i want, please inform me.

Thanks!!:bassist: KEEP UP THE GROOVE!

2. GBassNorth

GBassNorth

Dec 23, 2006
    SoCal
  3. StrangerDanger

StrangerDanger Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Theres a huge difference between what a bass sounds like in the store or in your bedroom and what it sounds like in a band mix. Get something that feels right to you.