1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Reranch tint on 51 Precision?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tonynoriega, Mar 26, 2013.

1. tonynoriega

tonynoriega Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    Today I'm ordering a Warmoth 51 P bass body, in swamp ash, unfinished. The outcome I want is a vintage look tint in satin. I've never done this before so I'm struggling with fear of the unknown since anything new like this involving hundreds of dollars can be daunting. I've read some on Guitar ReRanch and see that they sell tinted finishes in aerosol cans.

Have any of you done this, and if so would you kindly post photos and perhaps some notes on the process?

Thank you!

2. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    I am in the process of stripping a neck I painted with ReRanch tinted paint.
    It is fine if you like yellow. It does not look "vintage" at all, just yellow.
    Compared to my Fender Roadworn neck it's a joke. The paint needs more brown in it.

3. kentiki

kentiki

May 14, 2008
    I used the tinted clear on a painted jazz bass. It is a good product, but a little goes a long way. You might want to buy both tinted and non-tinted to acheive the look you want. Use the tinted first and when it looks right, continue with clear. If not you may run the risk of your bass being too orange.

4. TinIndian

TinIndian Supporting Member

Jan 25, 2011
    Micco Florida
    Never used the tint brfore but I recently used their Lake Placid Blue on a P bass build that came out great. Check out Stew Mac and see if they have a tinted clear. I'm pretty sure they do.

5. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    Theirs is yellow too. Not as bad but it is yellow.